top of page

2016 UPDATE - Cultists and Cows

Sorry for the recent hiatus, I'm lazy, also I got a (real) job. Happy new year everyone! I'm only like what, 14 days late? Recently I entered a competition (yet to be judged) over at 'brush sauce theatre' a google + forum for digital art. I mentioned the group and it's founder in THIS post. The competition was simple, construct an image based on the concept 'conflict with a god'. I thought long and hard and I came up with my best so far, which isn't that impressive compared to some of the other entries but eh. I'll guide you through my process.

(warning, my grammar is currently in deterioration because it is like 11:00)

I started how I typically do, I paced around the house listening to swans thinking of blasphemous things, (I swear it's unintentional any christian readers, swans is just that kind of music). I wanted to do something based off old religious paintings (sorry, really), but a little stranger and more reminiscent of francisco Goya. I wanted to present something morally ambiguous, or at least something with more emotional depth than a typical god vs man painting. I tried I really did. and this was the result:

This one went through several 'refinements' but it still looked like a meatloaf or metallica album cover. I guess Goya just doesn't translate well into digital art, I think I just don't have the maturity to create such images. Next I had a short break, of a mere three weeks. I lost confidence in my entry is what I'm saying. So I guess it was back to the drawing board, which is exactly what I did.

I tried to keep with the neoclassical feel, and it was quite succesful in the first image, one I almost went with. The second (top right) was based off some really frickin cool armoured skeletons with weird bedazzled fabric faces. I hated the generic-ness of, so that one wasn't developed any further (I did end up using the armour style later though). The next one down was another attempt at the Goya aesthetic, it could have been succesful, but I didn't try so. The bottom left piece is based of a sculpture I once saw that looked like a boar god, I really like this image however I also like the way Oscar Isaac looks but that don't make him art (...well). The last one I stuck with, I don't know if it is original but it sure is visually interesting. The next step was sketching out the revised version to be fully painted. I went ham with the Mad Max aesthetic. A lot of the details ended up getting changed, but in essence the image stayed the same. My favorite part is the banner, maybe because I've always wanted to own my own cult?

Next I did the background, which was surprisingly quick. I used photo textures to create the junk piles, and was too lazy to do the same with the walls. I will just have to accept that bricks are near damn imposible to do at this distance.

As you can see there are large portions I didn't even bother with because its not like you can see it ¯\_(ツ)_/¯. Next I went through steps 1-85. also I am to tired to explain to you every creative decision I made throughout this process.

Junk is harder than you think to come up with, which is why most of it (at this point) is metal sheets. really its all about adding on random metal bits till it looks like George Miller's wet dream. Next I did just that.

This needs knives, I feel like, and banners, maybe some blood?

​Excellent. I felt like the statue was a bit bare. So I googled some Russian folk drawing, gathered some inspiration, and applied some white chalk markings to the bull god. I also added sun rays because why not.

Next I planned my characters. The cultists saw little modification, our heroin Laika on the other hand... I took hours attempting to get the face just right. I had to constantly restructure it, I didn't know what was wrong.

I mean I loved the original drawing, but some drawings just don't translate well into digital art. as much as I loved the fact this version looked like Lorde, it just wasn't working when I properly painted it with the lighting. But after a while I finally got it done.

after hours of doing, and re-doing that godamn face, I got it 'right' I guess. I like it, I dunno though, is it good or have I become delusional in my desperation? What do you guys think? I'm pretty sure theres a comments section down there so give me any feedback you might have, don't be gentle, I am undeserving of such mercy. The idea is kind of like a post apocalyptic mad max like world. And theres a group of people descended from abattoir workers who worship bulls, participate in ritual slaughter, and wear brown leather overalls splattered with viscera. They welcomed a creature from the void into this idol thinking it was their god, now it controls them all like a hive mind. Songs to listen to that inspired this image: “Family” by Bjork (vulnicura) “Blackstar” David Bowie (Blackstar) “A Little God In My Hands” by Swans (To Be Kind) “Iron Age” By Opal Onyx (Delta Sands) “Woman” By Timber Timbre (Creep On Creepin' On) “Resurrection Drive Part I” By LastEx (LastEx) "What else have you been working on?" no one asked. Well a bunch of Russian stuff, I'm working on a concept based on Russian folklore and history. In the tradition of my Perennial Tides series, it's not actually based on earth but it's certainly going to be ambiguously slavic. Here is that bunch of stuff: (click to zoom)

And much more (ok like three) over at this link: http://lachlanrandall42.wix.com/lachlanrandallart?draft=true#!project-4/c3lmm I might submit some sketch book stuff (the best parts, I'm actually quite proud) if you guys want to see it. I hope you found this list helpfull! Comment bellow and Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Youtube or Google+ IF YOU SEE ANY MISTAKES PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CORRECT ME! Brush sauce theatre: https://plus.google.com/communities/111049617457219221679

FEATURED POSTS
RECENT POSTS
ARCHIVE
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FOLLOW US
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page