top of page

6 Great Artists on Youtube To Help You Improve Your Art


Feel stuck? want to get into digital art, water colours, or just start drawing as much as you can? At the start of this year I had barely touched my drawing tablet, I was uninspired and hadn't really properly tried to create digital art. It's always something I wanted to do, actualise my ideas and concepts in the form of digitally painted artworks. Meanwhile, my watercolour pieces were lacklustre at best, all muddy and uneven. Are you like this too? Well whether you are a beginner or an experienced drawer, we can all learn from these 5 brilliant artist You-Tubers. (not ranked, they're all amazing)

1.Crypticink (Ink/copic artist) Crypricink or Kyana Mitchell is a Self-taught Illustrator with big goals and spare time living in Arizona. Her sketch books are on a level I could hardly hope to achieve in my finished work, let alone in my sketch book. This is not necessarily a tutorial channel but an inspiration nonetheless. I love her little monsters that seem to teeter on the line of gruesome and adorable. She doesn't upload often but follow her anyway, she also has a tumblr blog at: http://crypticink.tumblr.com/ LINK: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOMjC1DHKoCrqZrH2c2Ezkw

2.Shaddy Safadi (Digital Artist) Safadi is a concept artist and art director with 10 years industry experience currently heading up a concept studio in Santa Monica. I found this guy through his amazing photoshop brush set which improved my art ten fold, which you can find HERE. Seriously, check it out, you almost only need these twelve and you are good to go. He also has a very thorough tutorial series that's great for beginners. He has heaps of professional experience under his belt, such as working with ken Levine at irrational games on the image above. Other jobs he's had are on 'the Last of Us' and unchartered at Naughty Dog. LINK: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8XmF5Ws4cHXFR5FwH8b8yg

3.Scott Robertson (Digital/ink) An accomplished freelance artist based in Los Angeles, this guy has some great photoshop and sketchbook solutions. He does a lot of drawings of mechs if thats your style. He's created/curated books for design studio press, which feature on his channel. He has some great knowledge to share, and has one of the cleanest damn sketch books I've ever seen. For people interested in mechs, vehicles, and clean visual styles, I recommend this guy.

4.Tyler Edlin (digital artist) If this list were numbered by rank, this guy would be number 1, but seeing as I am too lazy to re-number this list he is number 4 (sorry). He has covered every technique worth covering, such as perspective, thumbnails, environment design, brushes, textures, and getting inspiration to name a few. If you have very little experience in the field of digital art, this guy is a god send. Before watching his videos my art was much less polished, had little texture, was not proportioned correctly, and was incredibly bland. He taught me a lot of skills I wish I knew ages ago. Tyler also runs a google+ page that made me actually use google+ which is an achievment in itself. The page is called 'Brush Sauce Theatre' and can be found HERE. The group is for digital artists to showcase their work and get critiques so they can improve, and is actually the most friendly forum I have ever seen. LINK: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCm9pCim4dDN4KJZUILGizgA

5.MyPetiteCakes (Ink,watercolour, and cake artist)

Don't let the name fool you, this channel is also about things that are not cakes. MyPetiteCakes is a sweet as her name, and her videos are beautifully filmed, something lacking in the other artists videos. My personal favourite video is the one on how to make your own bound watercolour sketchbook, no book-press required. Another of my favourite video of hers is "dip pens 101 (Why do artists still use them?)" Before I watched this video I was doing it all wrong. If you are an art teacher who has dip pens in their classroom, but students who have no idea how to use them (properly) show them this video. If you really want to get into dip pens, watercolours, and cute drawing styles, this is the channel for you. LINK: https://www.youtube.com/user/MyPetiteCakes

6.FZDSCHOOL

The channel is ran by FZD school in downtown Singapore, the founder Feng Zhu is the star of the show. This guy has 15 years of industry experience, and it shows in his work. He has a lengthy series on digital art, the concept art industry, and improving your portfolio. This guy is great for if you are serious about you art and you want to get to a professional standard. My personal favourite video of his is "Design Cinema - EP 84 - Designing to Spec". It really helped me streamline my process and come up with concepts quicker. LINK: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbdyjrrJAjDIACjCsjAGFAA

I hope you found this list helpfull! Comment bellow and Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Youtube or Google+

FEATURED POSTS
RECENT POSTS
ARCHIVE
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FOLLOW US
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page